Posted by: Dave | December 20, 2009

Getting a Lexmark 4039 10-plus printer working on Windows 7

If you’re like me, you have a trusty and reliable IBM/Lexmark 4039 printer hanging around your home or office and still wish to use it while using Windows 7. This is certainly not a simple task as Lexmark does not make a driver for the 4039 series specifically for Windows 7. This is further complicated by Windows 7 not allowing the old 4039 drivers to be used on Windows 7!

The following is a less than ideal, crude but effective method of getting the Lexmark 4039 printer working on Windows 7. This guide is documentation of what I have done to get this working and includes some unorthodox techniques.

First, you’ll need to grab the universal print driver by HP (yes, HP, not Lexmark). Apparently the HP guys weren’t kidding when they said “universal.” This sounds great, until you realize that HP’s download links all point to an empty directory on their FTP servers. The file needed is:

If you’re on 32-bit: upd-5_0_1-ps_winxp-vista.exe
If you’re on 64-bit: upd-5_0_1-ps_winxp-vista-x64.exe

Luckily, with some internet searching, I was able to find these files available at: http://ftp.backschues.net/pub/driver/hp_clj1515n/driver/ – The file sizes are similar to what HP said they would be and Windows Defender didn’t turn up any malware notices so chances are these files are unmodified.

Next, run the executable. Considering how old the printer was, I was conservative and used the version 5.0 driver. On my system, it seemed this installation hung after a while. Turned out there was an Add Printer dialog hidden beneath other windows for me, Alt-Tabbing to that window then completing the wizard solved that problem.

If you are using a USB-to-Parallel converter (as I am using), have the converter installed first before doing this. Windows 7’s default drivers work perfectly for my converter. During the add printer wizard, just select which USB port you’ll be using for printing and go through the rest of the wizard as usual.

Once you’ve installed the driver, you’ll need to reconfigure it.

In the Printer Properties, disable the “Add Euro Currency Symbol to PostScript Fonts.” I don’t need the Euro symbol and felt the less my printer needed to do unnecessarily – the better.

In Printing Preferences, match your configuration to mine:

Viola, now you should have a working Lexmark 4039 printer on Windows 7. Thanks HP for universal drivers!

Responses

  1. Hi, I stumbled upon your blog and found it very helpful. I am helping a friend of mine to utilize his old 4039 printer on his new computer (old one died), but cannot find the mentioned files at the ftp site. Would you by any chance still have them sitting on an old drive somewhere? 🙂

    Thank you
    Ali

  2. 5/6/2011

    Hello Dave. Thank you for your post.

    I have Windows 7 – 64 bit OS. Your explanation is very clear, except the link to the site (http://ftp.backschues.net/pub/driver/hp_clj1515n/driver/) is no longer available. It says that has the page cannot be found HTTP404. If I type in just the root of the address, I get:

    It works!
    This is the default web page for this server.

    The web server software is running but no content has been added, yet.

    Are there other sites that may have the driver you suggested?

    Thanks.

  3. Yeah, I haven’t been able to locate an updated link. However, using a copy of the software I previously downloaded, I will definitively state that this will NOT work on Windows 7 64-bit due to lack of driver signing (I’ve tried everything I can think of).

  4. Hello Dave,

    I followed your instructions with one exception, I did download the universal print driver direct from HP. I can’t seem to get it to work, I have a IBM/Lexmark 4039 10R with the 16MB option installed. When I print a test page I get one page with an ERROR: offending command /rf rectfill. I see that hp has 2 drivers for win7 x64 one is for PS and one is for PCL, I used the PS.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thank you,

    Bruce

  5. My way of tinkering has always been that if the PS driver didn’t work, try one of the PCL drivers. I’m surprised you got that far on Win7-64, I couldn’t even find a signed driver to install – then again I didn’t known about the debugging flag in the registry at the time that disabled the driver signing requirement.

  6. OK, spent a little more time with my problem. As soon as I disabled the print optimization in the HP Universal Print Driver everything works perfect. Text, graphics or whatever print perfect and fast. Nice to get my IBM/Lexmark 4039 10R working with Win7 x64.

    Thanks for your post Dave, it sure got me in the right direction.

    Bruce

  7. Hi Bruce…
    I am not a real tech type person, so could you tell me how to disable the print optimizaton in the driver, and precisely which driver is it, and where can I find it?

    Thanks a bunch,

    Rick

  8. Sorry, this is a project that requires someone technical to pull it off. I recommend grabbing your neighborhood geek on this one.

  9. Yeah, thanks

  10. After months of looking and giving up, I found the Website below recommending using LaserJet 2200 Series PCL 5 driver. I installed it on my networked Lexmark 4039 and it works great.

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-hardware/windows-7-print-drivers-for-lexmark-4039-10r/6995b35c-1031-4b3c-b265-f4b64fac3fecHP LaserJet 2200 Series PCL 5

  11. The HP Laserjet III (for PCL 5) and IBM 4029 PS (for PostScript) drivers work also very well. They can be downloaded using the Windows Update feature in the printer setup dialogue.


Leave a Reply

Categories

